I definitely have my work cut out for me…literally!

Dave brought hhome the right drill bit and got rid of those horrible looking bolts on the the top. Today he’s going to pick up a piece of walnut to plug the holes.

Below the island is another story. The bolts that support will have to stay because of the weight of the butcher block so I will have to rough up the bolts, prime and finish them to look like huge dowels that match the island. Thank god for KILZ primer, I think I should start buying stock!!!

I removed the last bit of hardware with the intentions of getting to the rest of the island done tomorrow and the next day. Dave is going to punch in the little nails on the new trim and I am going to fill them and paint. I found some great stools that I am going to do red and blue ( a crackle and sand finish ). So today I am going to my favorite store Indigo Seas to check out the color palette she has going on and shop.

 AND THEN THER’S THE REST OF THE STORY…here’s a little sampling of what lies ahead for me:

THE  CHEESY PRODUCER’S  CONCRETE BATHROOMS!

I must say, he did put in nice appliances, showers and toilets. It’s the rest that escapes me completely. I have definitely a lot of work ahead of me faux finishing the concrete in both the guest bath and master bath. Above is the guest bath. While I am okay with the sink stand in and of itself, I will replace the top with granite, and the sink HAS to go ( the faucet with it ). It can’t decide between egyptian or Las Vegas…which style is it? Fire the person who designed that and the faucet!!! How about the space ship on the wall. Nice contradictory in style right? He did that all over the house. Hence the walls sconces in the bedroom that were replaced with the verdigris faux finish ones from Home Depot . ( I still have to replace the crystals with real vintage ones and antique the mirror behind the bulbs .) So the sink I am thinking old copper and the faucet too. The concrete walls I am going to try and convince my husband that the Modello designs at designamour.com is the right way to go. He doesn’t like busy but these designs are incredible! Plus we have already been appraised at the highest value on the interior so anything we do needs to be cost effective because this is cosmetic and won’t add value to our home.

Las Vegas or Egyptian? Which one????

Here are picks of the master bath. A looooooot of concrete. The shower is a double head and the concrete surrounds the whole bathroom…even where the toilet is!

Jacuzzi in master bath…

Pedestal sinks. There are two of these.

Master shower, There is another shower head opposite. BIG area to faux finish. Then after all of this is done, I have a two bedroom “apartment”  ( the house is a four bedroom three bath, but the kids are on the lower level and have a kitchen, living room and separate entrance  which I highly reccomend for families with teens- it would save A LOT  of marriages) where the teenagers are that needs to done. There is concrete in their bath too 😦

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment